I Thought That I Was Dreaming

She runs fast.
She runs away at record speed.
Fast enough,
That the only thing left,
Is the lingering perfume,
That now smells like regret.

The struggle is,
I should’ve known,
From the start
That the second round
Would embarrass my heart.

Everyone else was right,
And I was wrong,
When they told me,
It was doomed
Before it ever begun,
But I persisted.

The worst part is,
I was stubborn,
And wanted you.
I wish I learned my lesson,
The first time around.

Leave a Reply

