That Look

That one look you do,
The one you don’t mean to.
I catch it momentarily in my stares,
When you’re not trying and not aware,
Consumes me,
And resides within me,
Etching itself from my eyes to the heart,
Like a framed engraving of canvas art.

What have you done to my eyes?
No longer do they yearn for the majesty of sunrise,
Or the gravitational beauty of stars,
Earthly exquisiteness rolls by quicker than cars.

What poison have you brought?
Eyes enraptured by the chains of your thoughts,
For my eyes now ache for a single view,
It’s that simple one, that one of you.

Leave a Reply

